Getting to know tnAchieves featuring Amy Bain

Amy Bain

Research and Data Manager

Amy

Where did you go to school and what was your major?  I graduated with a degree in nonprofit management from Johnson University in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Why is education important to you? It took me three colleges, four major changes, and many years to finally get my degree. It took a long time to get where I am, but education has always been important to me.  In addition to my bachelor’s degree from Johnson, I received my cosmetology license from a community college. A degree or certificate can open so many doors! I love being able to help people in such different ways, and use the knowledge I’ve gained through my education to help others realize their potential! A good education can make all the difference in your life, and I encourage anyone who is thinking about college to pursue it. It is hard work, but totally worth it!

What is your best piece of advice for current college students?  Use your resources! Professors, college staff, your mentor, tnAchieves staff, family, and friends all want to help you, but you can’t be afraid to ask! You will run into difficult professors and classes, and you may feel like you are drowning. That is a normal part of college, but don’t let it get the best of you! The colleges and tnAchieves offer so many resources – there’s no excuse for not getting help!

What is your favorite part about working for tnAchieves? I love my job, so it’s hard to pick a favorite part! The tnAchieves team inspires and challenges me daily. Every day we try to serve families in Tennessee more effectively than the day before. I couldn’t ask for a better work family! I love meeting students, their families, and our mentors at the team meetings. The college-going process can be intimidating, and many students have doubts whether or not they can make it to that first day of classes. Helping families understand the process and realize that it can be done is so fulfilling.

Tell us a fun fact about yourself:  I am an avid reader, and love all things related to books!

Leave a Reply

